Pop-of-Red Granny-Squares Afghan

What do you do with the left-over yarn from projects of old?  What type of stitch would work?  Well, if you turn to an old favorite like granny squares then you have your next project.  Here is my completed granny square afghan.  Using a flat braid to join 144 granny squares yields a 5 ft by 5 ft afghan.  12 x 12 square

Each granny square was made in an assembly-line fashion.  What do I mean by that?  You start with the center and crochet the desired number of squares.  As I wanted this afghan to be large, I decided that I wanted to have 12 rows by 12 rows.  All yarn used was 4-ply medium weight machine washable yarn.

Gather all of your partial skeins and begin crocheting the granny squares.  In this case, I used tan yarn.  To add pizzazz, red yarn was used  for the second row.  Row 3 of each granny square used blues.  For the last row, I used a dark green.  Tying all of the different squares together, I used Kelly green.  The Kelly green yarn was the only yarn that wasn’t part of my stash.  So, I purchased 4 skeins.

granny square close up

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy @ It's a T-Sweets Day!
    Aug 27, 2016 @ 20:45:22

    Perfect use of left over yarn!

    Reply

Leave a comment